Beyond AIPAC

Who has released their tax returns

Members of Congress and governors aren’t required to make their federal income tax returns public. Each year they file financial disclosure reports instead, which list assets and income sources only in broad ranges; a tax return shows what they actually earned and from where. 22 of the 288 Democrats on this site have publicly released at least one return for tax year 2018 or later; 12 have released one for 2023 or later.

Returns released 22

Each person’s most recent return we found. Figures are as the return states them, read from the document itself, or, where only a news report was available, quoted from a report that attributes them to the return. Where a report gave no figure we could use, the row shows none. A joint return’s figures are the household’s, including a spouse’s income. A negative capital gain is a loss.

Tax returns released
NameLatest returnAdjusted gross incomeIncome by sourceTotal taxSource
Kirsten E. Gillibrand
Senate, New York
2025
joint return (household)
Also released: 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024
$240,008Wages $197,141 · Interest $42,867$34,127Release by Kirsten E. Gillibrand
Figures from the return
Kathy Hochul
Governor, New York
2025
joint return (household)
Also released: 2024
not statednot stated$576,060Release by Kathy Hochul
Figures from a news report on the return
Edward J. Markey
Senate, Massachusetts
2025
filed separately
Also released: 2018, 2019
$250,263Wages $144,978 · Capital gains $46,338 · Social Security $38,763 · IRA withdrawals $20,144 · Dividends $33 · Interest $7$41,066Release by Edward J. Markey
Figures from the return
Seth Moulton
House, Massachusetts
2025
joint return (household)
$956,286not stated$274,366Release by Seth Moulton
Figures from a news report on the return
Brad Sherman
House, California
2025
joint return (household)
Also released: 2022, 2023, 2024
$445,644Wages $298,614 · Social Security $48,400 · Dividends $46,472 · Pensions $38,894 · Interest $11,581 · Capital gains $1,683$73,440Release by Brad Sherman
Figures from the return
Haley M. Stevens
House, Michigan
2025$169,970not stated$28,249Release by Haley M. Stevens
Elizabeth Warren
Senate, Massachusetts
2025
joint return (household)
Also released: 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024
$909,031Wages $598,145 · Pensions $131,496 · Social Security $99,615 · IRA withdrawals $38,290 · Other income $34,189 · Dividends $10,200 · Interest $3,513 · Capital gains −$3,000$247,917Release by Elizabeth Warren
Figures from the return
Andy Beshear
Governor, Kentucky
2024
joint return (household)
Also released: 2023
$192,322Wages $168,068 · Dividends $24,266 · Capital gains −$306 · Interest $294$20,294Release by Andy Beshear
Figures from the return
Gavin Newsom
Governor, California
2024
joint return (household)
not statednot statednot statedRelease by Gavin Newsom
No figures entered here; see a news report on the return
JB Pritzker
Governor, Illinois
2024
joint return (household)
$10,655,910Capital gains $4,209,421 · Dividends $3,858,197 · Gambling $1,425,000 · Interest $812,843 · Business $372,180 · Rental, partnerships and trusts −$17,750 · Other gains $9,634 · Farm $1,960$1,599,511Release by JB Pritzker
Figures from the return
Mikie Sherrill
Governor, New Jersey
2024
joint return (household)
not statednot statednot statedRelease by Mikie Sherrill
No figures entered here; see a news report on the return
Josh Gottheimer
House, New Jersey
2023
joint return (household)
not statednot stated$218,486Release by Josh Gottheimer
Figures from a news report on the return
Gabe Amo
House, Rhode Island
2022not statednot statednot statedRelease by Gabe Amo
No figures entered here; see a news report on the return
Charles E. Schumer
Senate, New York
2022
joint return (household)
Also released: 2018, 2021
$620,511Wages $620,293 · Interest $218$159,960Release by Charles E. Schumer
Figures from the return
Gretchen Whitmer
Governor, Michigan
2022
filed separately
$149,120Wages $129,580 · Dividends $17,890 · Capital gains $1,638 · Interest $12$25,208Release by Gretchen Whitmer
Figures from the return
Jared Polis
Governor, Colorado
2021
joint return (household)
$733,877not stated$87,364Release by Jared Polis
Thomas R. Suozzi
House, New York
2021not statednot statednot statedRelease by Thomas R. Suozzi
No figures entered here; see a news report on the return
Tim Walz
Governor, Minnesota
2021
joint return (household)
not statednot stated$22,111Release by Tim Walz
Figures from a news report on the return
Ned Lamont
Governor, Connecticut
2020
filed separately
Also released: 2018, 2019
not statednot statednot statedRelease by Ned Lamont
No figures entered here; see a news report on the return
Cory A. Booker
Senate, New Jersey
2018
single return
$152,715Wages $152,639 · Interest $76$22,781Release by Cory A. Booker
Figures from the return
Amy Klobuchar
Senate, Minnesota
2018
joint return (household)
$338,121Wages $300,848 · Business $25,908 · Other income $11,262 · Pensions $429 · Interest $36$65,927Release by Amy Klobuchar
Figures from the return
Bernard Sanders
Senate, Vermont
2018
joint return (household)
$561,293Other income $382,920 · Wages $133,873 · Social Security $44,005 · Pensions $5,241 · Interest $381 · Dividends $1$145,840Release by Bernard Sanders
Figures from the return

Declined when asked 2

On-record refusals since 2022 that we found. Declining is legal; the reason given is in the source.

Ask your member to release theirs

Asking is ordinary civic participation, and many politicians release their returns when voters, reporters or opponents ask. A short, polite request to the office works best. For example:

“As your constituent, I’m asking you to publicly release your federal income tax returns, as several of your colleagues do every year. Will you?”

Find your member by ZIP code; each member’s page lists their office phone and contact form. Ask for the member’s own return; a spouse’s or children’s details aren’t needed.

Found by searching each member’s official and campaign sites and news coverage, last checked October 12, 2026. Someone not listed may have released a return we didn’t find: if you know of one, tell us. Nothing here comes from financial disclosure reports. Every link goes to the member’s own release or the outlet that published it.